An Open Letter to Nissan’s VP of Total Customer Satisfaction

Let me know what you think, gents!
Aaron Sarazan
xxx Jones Ferry Rd
Carrboro, NC 27510
December 06, 2009
[To Whom it May Concern]
[Sr. VP of Total Customer Satisfaction]
[Nissan]
[Somewhere in California]
[California]
C.A. Case #6661255 — Complete Engine Replacement in ’04 Sentra

Greetings. In late 2003 I purchased the first brand-new car of my life. Our family have always been Nissan owners. From the Stanza that lasted us fifteen years, to the brand-new Altima and Murano that my parents have purchased over this past year; we’ve always felt that we could rely on Nissan products to be there when we needed them– especially when money was short.

Not long ago, it became apparent to me that my 2004 Sentra Spec-V was losing almost all of its oil between each 3,000-mile service. Upon some research, it became apparent to me that this was most-likely a well-known issue regarding the catalytic converter, and that it could lead to the need for complete engine replacement.

It is at this point that I took my car to Michael Jordan Nissan in Durham, NC and spoke to service manager Mark Padfield. He informed me that the engine would indeed require replacement, and that there was nothing they could do to help me, short of a $4900.00 full engine replacement. He did, however, recommend I speak to consumer affairs, and that he would do what he could in consulting with them.

A few days ago, Consumer Affairs returned my call, and once again informed me that there was nothing they could do. A mere five years after purchasing a brand new Nissan automobile, I was on my own with a car that I would barely be able to give away, due to its massive defect. The complete destruction of $20,000 in five-years’ time is a difficult pill to swallow, especially at a time when layoffs are happening all around, and steady income could be lost at the drop of a hat.

I realize that Nissan, as a company, is a very reputable organization, and is generally a very good bet for the auto-buyer. I’ve heard excellent things from other Nissan owners, and I’d love to continue supporting the company that I grew up with (My father was even a Datsun/Nissan mechanic in his younger days). Even the mere existence of a “VP of Total Customer Satisfaction” is evidence that Nissan takes these matters seriously, which is why I felt I had to write to you.

You’re no-doubt aware that, according to numerous studies and statistics, it costs 7x as much money to recruit a new customer, as it does to maintain an existing one. As it stands, I am still an “existing Nissan customer”. But this is my last resort. If it truly comes to pass that I am left in the cold with no reliable automobile after a mere five years’ ownership, then I can no longer with good conscience (or good faith) give my patronage to Nissan Corporation.

I am sure you’re aware of just how competitive the market is these days, and of the leaps in hybrid/electric technology being made all around us. I would hope that a customer of my age and purchasing potential (25 year-old computer engineer) would be a commodity that your company cannot afford to lose. (As an aside, I am absolutely ecstatic to test drive the Nissan Leaf when it hits the market in the U.S.).

Thank you for your consideration in this issue
and I greatly anticipate your prompt reply,
Aaron Sarazan
aaron@xxxxxx.xxx
317-626-xxxx

P.S. — My VIN # is xxxxxxxxxx and you can reach Michael Jordan Nissan at (919)-489-3800
6 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Nissan’s VP of Total Customer Satisfaction

  1. 2009 Nissan Altima w/34K – lease expires shortly. Walser Nissan. Great car to this point but won’t start (ignition system issue?). We’ve tried everything suggested and unfortunately the 3 yr bumper-bumper warranty ended a week ago. Service advises towing from EP to Burnsville at $XXX but neither towing or repairs are covered. What to do? Let it sit and maybe they will come and pick up their car? We don’t need to take the boat out of the garage until next Spring. Let’s take a vote. In fact, let’s go viral – I’m neither happy or satisfied!

  2. I have a 2011 Maxima with 72,000 miles and complete CVT Transmission failure.

    The Nissan dealer advised me a part failed in the transmission and recommended I contact Nissan for goodwill assistance.I contacted Nissan’s Consumer Affairs Department and asked for assistance. I was told,” sorry there is nothing we can do since you are out of warranty.”

    However, Nissan extended the warranty on many models 2003-2010 (including the Maxima) for 10 years or 120,000 miles for CVT transmission problems, but refuse to entertain my request for assistance with my transmission problem.

    Doesn’t appear they are in the Customer Satisfaction Business!

Leave a Reply

